W Series announces 18 drivers for 2020 season

After a three-day on-track test at Almeria (southern Spain) last month, and a rigorous lap-time assessment and data-analysis programme thereafter, W Series has selected six new drivers to race alongside the 12 drivers who automatically qualified for the 2020 W Series championship as a result of having finished inside the top 12 in the 2019 W Series championship. 

Catherine Bond Muir (Chief Executive Officer, W Series) said:

“Almost as soon as the sun had set on Brands Hatch, scene of the 2019 W Series championship finale, on Sunday August 11th, we at W Series began preparing for our 2020 season. More than 40 new drivers applied to race with us in 2020 and, after a three-day on-track test at Almeria [southern Spain] last month, and a rigorous lap-time and data-analysis programme thereafter, we’re now able to announce the first 18 of the 20 drivers who’ll compete in the 2020 W Series championship.

“It’s an impressive list, including the top 12 from our 2019 season, and six new drivers, who all performed well at Almeria. The result is a varied and international group, comprising 18 drivers from 12 countries, ranging in age from the super-experienced Finn, Emma Kimilainen, 30, to the very promising young Russian, Irina Sidorkova, 16.”

We don’t yet have the calendar for the 2020 W Series championship but this growing series with some fresh faces for next year should be one to watch!

W Series

Enjoy more Motorsport content here and follow Racing Edge on Instagram here.

DriverCountryAgePosition in W Series Championship 
Jamie Chadwick UK211st
Beitske Visser Netherlands242nd
Alice Powell UK263rd
Marta Garcia Spain194th
Emma KimilainenFinland305th
Fabienne Wohlwend Liechtenstein216th
Miki Koyama Japan217th
Sarah Moore UK258th
Vicky Piria Italy259th
Tasmin Pepper South Africa2910th
Jessica Hawkins UK2411th
Sabre Cook USA2412th
Ayla AgrenNorway25New entrant
Abbie EatonUK27New entrant
Belen Garcia Spain20New entrant
Nerea Marti Spain17New entrant
Irina SidorkovaRussia16New entrant
Bruna TomaselliBrazil21New entrant